A queen’s crown

 

A queen's crown- My African Closet

 I’m baaacckk!!

Hello Lovelies,

So I had to take some time off this summer. Sorry I disappeared without a goodbye but I was stuck in a wormhole,trying to find my way out. lol, nah, I jest. Anyway,onto this outfit. I have long admired the Gele, which is a Nigerian headscarf worn by women on special occasions. It originated from Nigeria but is now worn by African women all over. I was super excited when a Nigerian friend of mine got married last month and I finally got to wear one.A trip to the African fabric shop and countless youtube videos later, I was ready and rearing to go.

I would say this about the gele. Don’t wear it if you want to blend into the background. It really is a powerhouse headtie. One thing i noticed about older Nigerian, and generally African women in gele over the years is that they go all out. When they wear a gele, the rest of their outfit has to be bold and elegant. You don’t wear a gele for any old ordinary day. And when you put on a gele, you kind of get this attitude like, ‘STEP BACK!! I’m coming through’. Embellished fabrics and bold jewelry galore.

A queen's crown- My African Closet A queen's crown- My African Closet A queen's crown- My African Closet

My initial plan was to wear  my gele with a suit, which is generally not done but i felt would be gorgeous and work very well with the power theme of the gele. Unfortunately, I was so busy in the week running up to the wedding that I couldn’t make my suit, so at the last minute, I found this dress and had to just make do. Didn’t like it too much but I was feeling too good about my gele to care about the rest. Next time I wear a gele, there is definitely going to be a power suit somewhere in the mix so stay tuned.

A queen's crown- My African Closet A queen's crown- My African Closet A queen's crown- My African Closet A queen's crown- My African Closet

Dress-CJAJ09, Headtie- Finetex Creative Streatham, Shoes- Primark 

So a few more pictures today than usual. Clearly, i’m trying to overcompensate. Thanks for dropping by, and in my absence, I finally got on instagram, so if you’re on there, lets connect. I share more of my work, behind the scenes stuff, inspirations and everyday shenanigans on there so do find me @myafricancloset on there. Thanks for dropping by and a happy September. AJ

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

